Learning

End of Year Celebration – 2016

It’s hard to believe that 2016 will be over in the next coming weeks; what a year it’s been! I’ve developed so much as a leader, follower and even as a learner in this past year it’s actually quite amazed me. Looking back on all that I’ve done and achieved is quite special. I never thought I’d be able to achieve what I’ve done and I’m grateful for those people who have helped me get to where I am today.

14706902_10211135916300269_4525851337007416322_o.jpg
Watching the Virgin Australia Supercars Championship action from the pits at the Bathurst 1000 in Mount Panorama, Australia.

For me, 2016 has been a year of self-discovery. Discovering who I am as a learner, who I am as a person and discovering all these new opportunities. Blogging has helped a lot with this. To be very honest, I didn’t think my blog would last 3 months. For a New Zealand secondary school student to keep a high-quality blog going while still juggling assessments and internals at the same time, I didn’t think it would be able to work. But it has! I’ve found time to blog in my down time and in my own time, something which has surprised me a lot considering I haven’t always been such a big fan of writing.

Capture.pngj.PNG
One of the most successful tweets I’ve ever made in terms of levels of engagement.

This year I also feel I’ve really unpacked my understanding of our Hobsonville Point Secondary School Habits in much more depth, particularly collaboration. I’ve been able to reach out and connect with so many new and different people over the course of the year and been able to create some really neat things too. Student Chat NZ was founded this year and what a year it’s been for the twitter education chat. We trended right away when our inaugural chat was underway and peaked at #1! That was without a doubt a special moment for me and New Zealand education this year.

facebook-cover-pic
Student Chat NZ was hugely successful in 2016 but watch out, 2017 will be massive!

I also was very honoured to be part of the 2016 #EdBookNZ project put together by Sonya van Schaijik. To be able to share my student voice alongside other strong and powerful NZ educators was pretty cool, certainly something that I wasn’t expecting to be a part of. I am really happy with the outcome and I have got really good feedback and reviews from my peers, teachers and the PLN on twitter. Certainly made it all worth it that’s for sure!

hyperstimulatornz.jpg
It’s not every day you can say that you’re 0.6 tenths quicker on a virtual racing simulator than 2x World Touring Car Champion, Paul Radisich!

Overall this year was a challenge; I’m not going to lie and sugar coat the year that was 2016. I’ve pushed myself a lot more this year and certainly that was a challenge in itself. To keep challenging and pushing myself to go in more depth or to ask that one extra question was tough to keep doing but look at where I am now, it was worth it. 2016 was a fantastic year, most likely the best year of my life so far. Here’s to 2017 and the challenges ahead.

Leave a Reply

