Beginning High School – A Short Reflection

This is a personal, short reflection on how I felt about coming to Hobsonville Point Secondary School and how I felt beginning high school in 2014.

Beginning high school would have been one of the most scariest moments of my life that’s because I thought to myself that it would be the scariest thing. But in fact, it was all a load of rubbish as high school for me has been one of the most enjoyable moments of my education and one of the most valuable experiences I have been able to have. Being surrounded by such passionate teachers and people that actually care about you and how you go at school is one of the best things about Hobsonville Point Secondary School. The relationships between students and staff at Hobsonville Point is something that I cherish always and  know that a lot of other people do. Being able to sit down with a teacher and go over work and talk to them. One of the many things that I have learnt over my time at Hobsonville Point is this…

Image1_Grade-5.png

“Teachers are not necessarily there to teach although it might look like that. Teachers are there to guide and help you through your learning journey and are there to help you set goals and help you work towards them”

Yes, I did make that quote up 😉 I have all of a sudden created this sense of acknowledging how madly dedicated to learning these people are because I never experienced that earlier in my learning at Primary School. School is where you spend a lot of time developing ideas and creating your learning, and if I can tell you one thing it would be this. Constantly reflect on your learning and reflect on where you want to go in life. Learning is the best pathway to help you with that.

8 thoughts on “Beginning High School – A Short Reflection

Add yours

  1. Thanks for sharing, I couldn’t agree more!!!!! I love your quote especially because personally I don’t think calling the adults at schools “teachers” is really the most accurate word to use for 100 percent of the time. Everyone can be a teacher of something, just like how everyone is a student of life, but most “teachers” mean so much more to me than just “someone who teaches”.

    To quote one of my own old blog posts (because what describes our thoughts better than our own reflections): “I think that our school “teachers” should be called “mentors”. A teacher implies that you are someone that teaches others, but our “teachers” often say that they are learning from the students as well. Being called a “mentor” has an extra layer to it then just “teacher”. Not only do you teach, but you are able to teach, lead, and help students learn how to teach. “If you can teach it, you really know the information.”

    The thing is, I still think some teenagers/kids/students can also be mentors at some things so more often now I find that it is simply a matter of context. Sometimes I say “teacher” other times “mentor, facilitator, partner, teammate, or lead learner.” I find it really interesting how titles in the education world are evolving in the 21st century. I wonder what the next new term will be that people start using, because I have a hunch that there will be many more.

    Thanks for your reflection!

    Like

    1. At HPSS we have different ‘titles’ for different roles – we are a Hub Coach in Hubs (our advisories); Project Guides for Big Projects; and Teachers in our Modules (more normal classes). I like your use of the word Mentor here Anya, I would definitely see myself as a Geography mentor over the years.

      Like

  2. Another great post James. I love that through our strong relationships focus in how we operate, you have been able to recognise the passion of our HPSS staff. What is even better than that though is the passion that these blog posts are demonstrating that you have for education. Keep on writing because you offer a great perspective on how education should be.

    Like

  3. Wow James,
    I’m impressed with how reflective you are in your blog post about starting high school. I really like how you talk about your teachers/mentors as being “madly dedicated to learning”. A great description of many teachers. Here’s to you being madly dedicated to learning.

    Like

Leave a Reply

Powered by WordPress.com.

Up ↑

